I am a tree

Standing in the open air,
birds and bees around
Sun is shining brightly,
Leaves upon the ground
My many branches hold them,
Until the wind arrives,
My trunk is rooted deep,
My fruits bring in the flies
My flowers bloom so beautifully,
An attraction to one and all,
Until they start abusing me,
And pluck them, till they fall
My fruits grow rosy and radiant
And tastes delicious, I’ve heard
I don’t mind when they pick them,
And I love feeding the birds
But then sometimes I hurt,
When they come and hack at me
To use me for production,
Until I no longer see,
Sometimes I do grow back,
To live another life,
And then it starts again,
Until I see the knife…
Author: nerishakemraj

Self-published poet, and fiction writer.

Leave a Reply

