Trudging on

The door opens, my heart sinks
It is not what I expected…
No golden raindrops, no tasty treats,
No heart-shaped candy
Only plain old disappointment

Leaving all behind me
I thought this would be different.
A new start, another better chapter,
An open opportunity
It is not

I tread carefully, without stepping on nails,
I cannot avoid everything though,
And the prickly plants catch me off-guard
Eyes watching, waiting
I may fall, I will not fail…

Author: nerishakemraj

Self-published poet, and fiction writer.

Leave a Reply

